How to Delete Facebook Messages on iPhone, Android, or Chrome

Last Updated on June 16, 2020 by Jason Ben

Once in a while, you will need to create space in your Facebook inbox by getting rid of the unwanted or obsolete messages. In other cases, your desire to hide some confidential information therein from unauthorized people will force you to delete specific messages or an entire conversation. This article will guide you through the procedure for deleting Facebook messages on your Android, iPhone, or chrome. Be our guest.

Delete Facebook Messages

-How to Delete Facebook Messages on iPhone

Your mobile iPhone saves Facebook messages in the Facebook Messenger app- the blue icon with a white symbol inscribed in it. To delete messages therein, you will tap on the app and then it will prompt you to enter your login details. If you were already logged in, tapping on the icon will take you to a page containing all your previous conversations. If, for whichever reason, you land on a different page, tap on the “Home” icon at the bottom left-hand corner of your screen to get back to your conversations’ list. How you proceed from there will depend on whether you wish to delete a single message within a conversation or an entire conversation. This is how to delete Facebook Messages on iPhone for each case:

i. Deleting A Specific Message:

  • The message that you wish to delete is part of a given conversation. Open that conversation and scroll down/up to your target message.
  • Tap and hold the message until a menu with the options “Copy, Delete, Forward” pops up at the bottom of your screen.
  • Tap on “Delete” and then on the menu that follows, choose “Delete” once more. That done, the message permanently disappears, leaving the other messages within that particular conversation intact.

ii. Deleting A Conversation:

  • From “Home”, scroll up/down until you find the conversation you wish to get rid of.
  • Unlike in procedure one, you won’t open that conversation. You will instead tap on it and hold till a menu with the options “More, Mute, Delete” pops up.
  • Choose “Delete”.
  • Confirm your wish by pressing on “Delete” once more. That’s all.

Download iPhone&Android Eraser FREE Now!

Purchase iPhone&Android Eraser Now!

OneClick to Erase All/Certain Data from iPhone&Android with Ease.

Get Free Trial via Email for Later Download on Computer

-How to Delete Messenger Messages On Android

If you wish to delete messenger messages on an Android app, you will proceed as follows:

i. Deleting A Specific Message

  • Open the conversation in which the target message is part.
  • Tap and hold the message until a menu with the options “Copy, Delete, Forward” pops up at the bottom of your screen.
  • Choose “Delete” and then when prompted, choose “Delete” again. If unsure of your decision, choose the “Cancel” option.

ii. Deleting an Entire Conversation

  • Identify your target conversation.
  • Tap on it and hold (do not open it) until a menu with multiple options (Archive, Mark as Spam, Delete, and Mute Notifications etc.) pops up.
  • Choose “Delete”.
  • You will be required to confirm your action by tapping on “Delete Conversation”. If you haven’t made up your mind, click “Cancel”.

Note: If you wish to delete multiple conversations, either on Android or iPhone, you will have to delete one conversation at a time.

Download iPhone&Android Eraser FREE Now!

Purchase iPhone&Android Eraser Now!

OneClick to Erase All/Certain Data from iPhone&Android with Ease.

Get Free Trial via Email for Later Download on Computer

-How to Delete Facebook Messages on Desktop/Chrome

i. To delete an entire conversation, proceed as follows:

  • From your news feed, click on the “messages” icon at the top right-hand corner of your screen. You will see few of your most recent conversations. To see all conversations, click on “See All in Messenger”. All your chats will appear on your left-hand side. You can also achieve the same by visiting web.facebook.com/messages.
  • Place the cursor on your target conversation.
  • On the far right-hand side, you will see a gear icon. Click on it.
  • A menu with several options will pop-up. Choose “Delete”.
  • Another menu with the options “Cancel”, “Delete”, “Archive” will appear at the center of your screen. Click on “Delete”.

ii. To delete a specific message, proceed as follows:

  • Perform the first procedure in (i) above.
  • Instead of placing the cursor on your target conversation like in the case above, click on it.
  • The conversation opens up at the center of your screen. Scroll through it to find your target message.
  • Place the cursor on the message. Three dots will appear either on its right or left.
  • Click on the dots. The “Delete” option will pop up. Click on it.
  • You will be asked to confirm whether or not you want to delete the message. Choose “Delete”.

Conclusion:

Once deleted, Facebook messages aren’t recoverable. It’s therefore prudent for you to carefully choose what to delete and what to keep.

Download iPhone&Android Eraser FREE Now!

Purchase iPhone&Android Eraser Now!

OneClick to Erase All/Certain Data from iPhone&Android with Ease.

Get Free Trial via Email for Later Download on Computer

Comments are closed.